Sapmi Too 19970828 191658


14 Mar – 17 Mar '19

A series of lectures, screenings, conversations, performances, poetry, yoik, music and exhibitions.

Maze Church Tour with Tore Turi Photo Susanne Haetta Daiddadallu

Máze Church Tour with Tore Turi. Photo: Susanne Hætta / Dáiddadállu

Slam poetry by Timimie Marak Photo Susanne Haetta Daiddadallu

Slam poetry by Timimie Märak. Photo: Susanne Hætta / Dáiddadállu

Mazejoavku house tour by Ante Guttormsen Photo Susanne Haetta Daiddadallu

Mázejoavku house tour by Ante Guttormsen. Photo: Susanne Hætta / Dáiddadállu

SápmiToo was a four-day programme of lectures, screenings, conversations, performances, poetry, yoik, music and exhibitions curated by Dáiddadállu, which took place place in Máze and Guovdageaidnu. The programme was hosted by the Office for Contemporary Art Norway (OCA) and the artists’ collective Dáiddadállu.

With SápmiToo, OCA continued its long-term engagement with the town of Máze – iconic in recent Sámi political history – and its advocacy for the establishment of an international Indigenous artists’ residency at the former headquarters of the Mázejoavku: Sámi Dáiddajoavku.

Seeking to empower women, artists and Sámi curatorial methodologies, SápmiToo addresses gender roles, violence and sexual abuse in Sápmi and Indigenous communities, the relationship of these realities to the colonial experience, and how art and artists can be at the centre of these important ongoing conversations.

Programme contributors included Wanda Nanibush, Mari Boine, Roger Ludvigsen, Johan Sara Jr, Jenni Laiti, Hilde Skancke Pedersen, Susanne Hætta, Máret Ánne Sara,Timimie Märak, Ánna-Katri Helander, Mikkel Eskil Mikkelsen, Johan Vasara, Dine Fenger Lynge, Elle Sofe Sara, Liv Inger Somby, Nils Joel Partapuoli, Sara Marielle Gaup Beaska, Taqralik Partridge, Margrethe Bals Utsi, Anne Lene Turi Dimpas, Inga Marja Steinfjell, Article 3 (Christina Hætta, Élle Márjá Eira, Anne Henriette Reinås Niilut, Sunna Nousuniemi), Anne Merete Gaup, Ingá Márjá Sarre, Katarina Kielatis, Rauna Kuokkanen, Katya García-Antón, Silja Somby, Lisa Kristensen, Runar Myrnes Balto, Liselotte Wajstedt, Elle-Máijá Tailfeather, Lada Suomenrinne, Élle Márjá Eira, Marja Bål Nango, Elin Marakatt and Ante Guttormsen.